Edith Brault Lalanne

Edith Brault Lalanne

Lawyer and mediator

Contacts



Contact me

BAR ADMISSION

2000

FORMAL TRAINING
  • Quebec Bar School – Civil, commercial and labour mediation
  • Quebec Bar School – Bar
  • University of Montreal – Bachelor of laws
PROFILE

Attorney
Civil, commercial and labour mediator
Accredited by:

  • Quebec Bar
  • Minister of Justice for Small Claims
  • L’institut de médiation et d’arbitrage du Québec (IMAQ)

See and do things differently!

That is why Edith Brault-Lalanne has joined the Lavin Gosselin team

In the years prior, Me Brault-Lalanne was a partner at a distinguished Montreal law firm.  She was also assistant general manager and legal counsel for an agricultural union.

For 13 years she was an attorney practising in the private sector.  She offered legal services to her clients, negotiating and settling numerous cases.  For 2 years, she acted as in-house counsel for a large organization, advising the directors and managerial staff, acting as decision-maker as well as engaging and directing outside legal services.  Through this experience she has learned to wear her client’s shoes gaining a better understanding of the client’s real needs and issues.

After all of these years of practice, she realized that many of the contested cases in which she was involved could have been avoided by using various means of conflict settlement by the parties and prevention within the business context.  She favours mediation and encourages managerial staff to prevent rather than cure.

In the course of her practice, she works with a varied clientele made up of public organizations, private businesses and individuals and she is able to adapt her approach to the variety of structures, situations, needs and means of her clients.

In addition to representing her clients before the courts of Quebec, she acts as a mediator.  She negotiates, drafts and revises various contracts;  she develops strategic plans, drafts policies and rules, assists her clients in the execution of contracts and helps them resolve problems as they arise.  With her clients she advocates a preventive approach in order to avoid litigation, minimize legal costs and build long term relationships.

FIELDS OF LAW
  • Civil and commercial
  • Construction
  • Family
  • Real Estate
  • Municipal
  • Collections
  • Individuals
  • Labor relations
  • Civil and medical liability
  • Estates
  • Consultation for Small Claims
PUBLICATIONS

She has written several legal chronicles and collaborated for the Newsletter “Repères de droit civil en ligne des Éditions Yvon Blais”.

CONFERENCES

During the course of the last few years, she has moderated several specialized training courses.  She has acted as guest speaker for clients, and on occasion at symposiums organized by various organizations including the Canadian Institute, AQLASS, AQRSS and ETS – the topics were related to:

  • Contract management
  • Construction contracts and timetable management
  • Performance bonding and insurance: “the whys and whereabouts”
  • ABCs of construction privileges
  • CSST and “reasonable diligence” for contractors
  • Contract law for public bodies
  • Reasonable accommodation
  • Psychological harassment
  • Various investigative techniques in the workplace
  • Changes to the labour standards Act.
INVOLVEMENT

Me Brault-Lalanne is an involved woman for whom mutual aid and assistance are foremost.   During the course of the last years, she has been involved in several associations.  She presently sits on the board of directors of the CPE L’Univers des Petits.  She was President of the board of directors of Entre Parents Montréal-Nord Inc.  She acted as director of the organization Logis Rose-Virginie where she continues her activities of fund-raising.

  • Member of the Cowansville and region Chamber of Commerce
  • Member of the Canadian Bar Association
  • Member of the IMAQ

Edith Brault Lalanne

Edith Brault Lalanne

Avocate et médiatrice

Contacts



Contactez-moi

ADMISSION AU BARREAU

2000

FORMATION
  • École du Barreau du Québec – Médiation civile, commerciale et travail
  • École du Barreau du Québec – Barreau
  • Université de Montréal – Baccalauréat en droit
PROFIL

Avocate
Médiatrice en civil, commercial et travail
Accréditée par :

  • Le Barreau du Québec
  • L’institut de médiation et d’arbitrage du Québec (IMAQ)
  • Le ministère de la justice pour les petites créances

Pour voir et faire les choses autrement !

C’est pour cette raison qu’en 2015, Me Brault-Lalanne s’est jointe à l’équipe de Lavin Gosselin.

Au cours des années précédant son arrivée, Me Brault-Lalanne a été associée d’un important cabinet Montréalais. Elle a également été directrice générale adjointe et affaires juridiques d’une fédération dans le milieu agro-alimentaire.

Pendant 13 ans, elle a agi à titre d’avocate au privé. Elle a fourni des services juridiques à ses clients, elle a négocié et réglé plusieurs causes. Pendant deux ans, elle a conseillé à l’interne des gestionnaires de l’organisation pour laquelle elle travaillait. Elle a agi comme décideur et a requis les services juridiques à l’externe. A travers cette expérience, elle a chaussé les souliers d’un client. Elle a compris encore mieux les réels besoins et enjeux de ceux-ci.

Après toutes ces années de pratique, elle a constaté que plusieurs litiges dans lesquelles elle a dû intervenir auraient pu être évités grâce à l’utilisation de différents moyens de règlement de conflit par les parties et la prévention au sein des entreprises. C’est pourquoi elle favorise la médiation et invite les gestionnaires d’entreprise à prévenir plutôt que guérir.

Dans le cadre de son travail, elle œuvre avec une clientèle diversifiée composée d’organismes publics, d’entreprises privées de toutes tailles et de particuliers. Elle sait adapter son approche aux différentes structures, situations, besoins et moyens de ses clients.

En plus de représenter ses clients devant les différents tribunaux du Québec, elle agit comme médiatrice. Elle négocie, rédige et révise divers contrats. Elle élabore des plans stratégiques, rédige des politiques et des règlements. Elle assiste ses clients en cours d’exécution de contrat et les aide à résoudre les problématiques qui surviennent. Avec ses clients, elle préconise une approche préventive pour éviter les litiges, minimiser les frais légaux et bâtir des relations à long terme.

SECTEURS DE DROIT
  • Civil et commercial
  • Construction
  • Famille
  • Immobilier
  • Municipal
  • Perception de créances
  • Personne
  • Relations de travail
  • Responsabilité civile et médicale
  • Succession
  • Support pour les dossiers de petites créances
PUBLICATIONS

Elle a rédigé plusieurs chroniques juridiques et elle a collaboré au bulletin Repères de droit civil en ligne des Éditions Yvon Blais.

CONFÉRENCES

Au cours des dernières années elle a offert de nombreuses formations sur mesure. Elle a agi comme conférencière invitée pour des clients ainsi qu’à l’occasion de colloques organisés par différents organismes, dont l’Institut Canadien, l’AQLASS (L’association québécoise en logistique et en approvisionnement du secteur de la santé), l’AQESSS (L’association québécoise d’établissements de santé et des services sociaux) et l’ÉTS (L’université : École de technologie supérieure). Les sujets de formations portaient notamment sur :

  • La gestion des contrats
  • Les contrats de construction et la gestion de l’échéancier
  • Cautionnement et assurance : comment s’y retrouver?
  • L’ABC de l’hypothèque légale de la construction
  • La CSST et la « diligence raisonnable » pour un maître d’ouvrage
  • La Loi sur les contrats des organismes publics
  • L’accommodement raisonnable
  • Le harcèlement psychologique
  • Les différentes techniques d’enquêtes en milieu de travail
  • Les modifications de la Loi sur les normes du travail
IMPLICATION

Me Brault-Lalanne est une femme impliquée pour qui l’entraide est primordiale. Au cours des dernières années, elle s’est engagée auprès de différentes associations. Elle siège actuellement comme administrateur du C.P.E. l’Univers des Petits. Elle a été présidente du conseil d’administration d’Entre Parents Montréal-Nord Inc. Elle a agi comme administrateur de l’organisme Logis Rose-Virginie ou elle continue ses activités auprès du comité de levée de fonds.

  • Membre de la Chambre de commerce
  • Membre de l’association du Barreau canadien
  • Membre de l’institut de médiation et d’arbitrage du Québec (IMAQ)